{Monthly Challenge} food photography

Food photography used to be a regular gig for me. Not taking the photos, but directing the creation of food photos on behalf of my clients. This month’s challenge put the food in front of my camera. I know how difficult food photography can be, especially if you’re lacking the set-up, props and a talented food stylist. Sure would have been great to have any one of these things in my back pocket, but alas, I did not.

Since I’m not much of a cook and I find it so difficult to stop and take pictures when I do cook, I decided to focus on a few oranges for this month’s challenge. They have great texture, lovely color and don’t require the stove. 🙂 Those are all great attributes in my book. These were all taken with natural light with my 50mm 1.8 and 100mm 2.8L lenses.

food collage 2

food collage 1

dripping orange slice

Once these oranges had served their purpose, my daughter and I got to enjoy some fresh squeezed orange juice. Sooooo gooooood! Make sure to continue through the circle, starting with the wonderful Jennifer Bantle. You won’t want to miss seeing how she tackled this challenge!

10 thoughts on “{Monthly Challenge} food photography

  1. Pingback: CM Monthly Blog Circle – March » Cat McAteer Photography

  2. You did a great job with this theme. I love that you photographed the orange in so many different ways, and that you found such beautiful light.

Leave a Reply

